What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Aerobatic Weights and Relationships

glibejaja

I'm New Here
BLUF: Has anyone seen this +5g limit (Kevin Hortons POH), should it be followed? Can the MAW and MTOW be a linear relationship?

Morning All,
Im new to the Vans Air Force buying into an 1998 RV-8. Never thought the RV Grin was real until I flew her solo for the first time.
Im looking to get back into some aerobatic flying. Ive already started by revising the basics (loops, rolls, tail slides), but have found that unless I take no fuel I cant share these expirineces with family and friends in the back.

Looking into this, Ive found that Kevin Hortons POH (awesome document, well laid out) mentions a +5g limit? I cant find this anywhere else and would like some more context behind it if there is some?
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https://www.ninelima.org/poh/Vans/RV-8A/RV8-poh-2011-kevin-horton.pdf

Else, can I extrapolate a linear plot between the weight and g-load limits on the aircraft?
Ex: +6g at 725kg and +3.3g at 816kg? Can a pick a point inbetween and say that I can pull +4g at 780kg?
Or should I treat the weights and g's like a cliff, where 726kg-816kg are a +3.3g limit.

Looking forward to hearing your comments on the above,
Safe flying!

Vans says +6 and -3 so that's what I'd use at any weight as they do not qualify that like some other aerobatic aircraft do (edit: I was wrong, they do limit the weight with -1 wings to 1600lbs). They do say not to do tail slides or other maneuvers that reverse airflow over the tail - be careful.

Last edited:
Vans says +6 and -3 so that's what I'd use at any weight as they do not qualify that like some other aerobatic aircraft do. They do say not to do tail slides or other maneuvers that reverse airflow over the tail - be careful.