What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

The mystery oil leak continues??

XLS+PAT

So I've been chasing a mystery oil leak for a few months. I'm wondering if anybody else has had this problem. Engine is a Titan 0-360. It was a kit built engine. 500 hours on the Hobbs and it hasn't missed a beat.

Engine is stock, except for a oil filter adapter. So here is where the leak is: On the baffel behind cylinder #3 there is a fine mist of oil. I thought it was coming from the oil pressure relief valve, so I replaced it. But that wasn't it.

Pulled the cowl today after a 1.8 hour flight and the fine mist was on the rear baffel like before. I have had a few other guys look and it and they shake their head like I do. Is it possible or common for the push rod tubes to leak?

Any words of wisdom are appreciated.

Thanks
Pat
RV7 KHAF

It is not impossible for pushrod tubes to leak - sometimes they get dented by a mechanic putting in or removing spark plugs, and those dents can become cracks. If its an older tube, it might have gotten turned so that you cant see the dent/crack.

Uncommon, but I have seen it.

It is also possible to not get the pushrod seated fully in the seals, or for the seals to start leaking.

I have confirmed, or eliminated, suspect areas with a thick wrap of white paper towel held on with zip ties.

Aeroshell is efflorescent with UV which might be helpful in origination zone location.

Good luck with the investigation. If you have multiple sources it can take a while, so don't give up.

My new Lyc factory engine had the accessory plate installed w/o a gasket. This took a while to find.

Flare

I had a oil leak on the factory engine flare. The rigid tubing on the factory engine is stiff stainless. If there is any misalignment, the flair will seep. I added a voshan to seal my flair.

Black light