What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Strategy needed for part identification that survives priming

DonMcKee

The parts for my vertical and horizontal stabilizers are ready for priming and assembly. I'm planning to start with Stewart Systems water-based EkoPrime.

I have no experience using a spray gun, and it's been awhile since I've done any practice riveting, so I decided to build another practice kit (flap) to test my end-to-end process. I've been diligent about marking my parts as I go with blue Sharpie (part #s, witness marks, etc.), and was worried what would happen when I got to the priming step. Well, I found out. :(

I need a strategy for IDing parts that survives priming.

First, here's what I did: mark my parts; scuff for priming; re-mark my parts; clean for priming; re-mark my parts; etch for priming; re-mark my parts; solvent wipe for priming; re-mark my parts (where I could discern my old marks, anyway); spray primer; try to figure out what's what. :eek:

After spraying, I had a few parts that I could just barely make out my marks. I don't know if that was just the right amount of primer to use, or not enough. If the later, I suppose that I could add more "marking" steps between light dustings of primer, but there's gotta be a better way.

Do you have any suggestions, or pointers to suggestions?

1. After clean and prep, just before spraying primer, write the part number on with blue sharpie ( I don't know why, but blue works best). Let it dry for a couple of seconds. Now it will bleedthrough self-etching primer like SEM.

2. To identify left from right mirror image twins, put a single light punch mark in a conspicuous location on one. (I always put it on the left).

3. Spray in sets (all left set, all right set, etc...) keep the parts separated till primer is dry. Then remark part # with sharpie.

I placed the parts for spraying in the logical way they went together.