What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Storage of Inner Tubes and Tires question.

eh_v8_tor

Good day folks,
I have my RV-7 finish kit now! That comes with the main tires, tubes, rims etc. I've been a slow builder, therefore, it could be a lot of years before they see pavement or grass.
How should I store these tires and tubes? Should I assemble them now? Should I treat the tubes with anything such as talcum powder?
At the moment they are sitting on a shelf out of the sunlight in a heated garage.
Thanks in advance for your tips,
Steve

I would powder them up with talc.. not baby powder, as that’s not talc anymore..or sell them and buy new Michelin leak guards as you get closer..

Just one man's experience/data point:
El Cheapo (me) didn't want to wait, nor spend, for (real) tire talc and used baby powder (corn starch) when mounting my RV12 tires.
I ended up having a flat on a main gear tire twice (several months apart). Luckily both occurred at home field during taxi.
Our local, friendly A&P examined the tube(s) and spotted the tell tale sign of tire/tube rubbing a pinhole.
Truth be told, it wasn't exactly the powder's fault, but that I neglected to keep pressures up to optimum.
Not a very scientific study but just another example of why to FOLLOW the instructions ;)

A reputable tire company representative told me to store tires that were not destined for use in the near future in sealed black plastic garbage bags. That would keep light and ozone from degrading them. Even so, storing them somewhere away from ozone producing electric motors is advisable.

Also, don't store rubber tires/tubes near electric motors (ozone generators), or under UV/Flourescent lighting. Both can degrade the rubber.
Dark and dry. Best thing for the tubes is to insert them into the tire and lightly inflate, then put them in a dark place like a box.