What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Pre-Buy Inspection

SquawkVFR

***Editing for context*****

Begin edit:

Not trying to show off here, but just for context: I have over a decade of experience as a mechanical and electrical design engineer. I've designed, built, assembed, and throubleshot dozens of machines and their associated wire harnessess and material specifications, from concept all the way through long-term field support. I'm an engineer, but I'm also a seasoned technician with many years of turning a wrench. I also have a minor in Aerospace Engineering. In other words, I could probably handle most of these fixes myself. Just looking for more seasoned owners' insights about any signs of deeper issues that may not be apparent upon visual inspection.

The price reflects the condition.

I asked Vic to do the inspection, but he said the location is outside the distance he is willing to travel.

The aircraft recently passed its annual Condition Inspection. No offense to the A&Ps out there, but I don't have much confidence in your run of the mill A&P based on the results of this inspection.

End edit.

I'm shopping for my first airplane purchase, so I bought Vic Syracuse's Pre-Buy book. Fortunately, the seller was tolerant of me taking 10 hours over two days to inspect his aircraft. During the course of my inspection, there were some findings for which I'd like to get your advice. I'll enumerate my concerns and then attach pictures at the end for clarity. Please provide any advice you have with respect to my findings and whether I should proceed with the purchase or wait for another to come on the market.

Keep in mind that I'm only sharing my findings. There were over a hundred items I inspected, and these were the only issues I found. The form, fit, and function of the overall construction of the aircraft was excellent in my unprofessional experience.