What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Poll: Which primer did you use?

Which primer did you use?

• Sherwin Williams P60G2

Votes: 18 12.9%
  • Akzo

Votes: 24 17.1%
  • Stewart Systems Ekoprime or Ekopoxy

Votes: 29 20.7%
  • PPG Super Koropon

Votes: 4 2.9%
  • Kirker Enduro Prime

Votes: 2 1.4%
  • Rattle can

Votes: 37 26.4%
  • Other

Votes: 15 10.7%
  • I didn't prime

Votes: 11 7.9%

• Total voters

bertschb

Well Known Member
Friend
As a new builder, I've spent hours researching priming. The one thing I wasn't able to find was a poll on which primers folks here are using. Just curious which primer is the most popular. If you primed, which did you choose?

Last edited:
SEM rattlecan. It goes on well, the can lasts a fair while, and it dries quickly. It does become more durable over time. Plus, it can be removed easily enough if necessary.

Very satisfied.

Around the cockpit I used Stewart EkoPoxy, which I found easy to spray and fairly durable, more so than SEM.

I clicked Rattlecan on your poll but could have as easily clicked the EkoPoxy.

Dave

Kirker

I sprayed the inside with P60G2 but fiberglass is all primed with Kirker EnduroPrime and Kirker UltraGlo single stage if painted. Inside the cowl is just white EnduroPrime. Some interior parts took a beating during construction so they got black EnduroPrime rather than digging out SW Jet Flex. It didn't hold up very well and components are ridiculously expensive.