What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

No fuel passing spider

pazmanyflyer

Well Known Member
So I'm prepping for first engine start and working through the last of the fuel flow checks. When I have mixture rich, throttle 1\8 open and turn on the Boost pump I see 10 PSI on the Dynon and no fuel flow. Disconnected the supply line from the spider "in" port and try again and I then have FF of 2 gph and still 10 PSI pressure. Reconnected to spider and back to 0 and 0. Okay, next I disconnected the FI lines from the spider and tried again. Nothing. No flow through the spider. Fuel stops at the spider. I've read about the spring pressure needing to be passed before it opens. I think the 10 PSI I'm seeing is enough to do that. But fuel will not pass the spider on boost pump alone. So, am I missing something in the manual that says the servo provides addition pressure to the spider when starting? I'm new to FI and I'm scratching my head about this. I have an IO360M1B with Bendix servo and spider both overhauled by AFP. I sent an email to AFP and waiting for Don's response. Until then please educate me.

Pull the cap off the divider and carefully pull the diaphragm off the body of the divider. With a pair of pliers pull the plunger out by the cap screw. Not uncommon for them to get stuck after sitting for a prolonged period. Clean with carb cleaner and reassemble.

Try actual boost pump pressure

The boost pump for a fuel injected engine should be putting out over double that pressure. Mine runs at 26 PSI. Try running your actual boost pump to it. I do not think 10 PSI is enough to open the spider.