What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

AOA Pitot: Heated or not

rolivi

Well Known Member
Sponsor
I'm very interested in installing a Dynon AOA Pitot. I go back and forth about heated or not because of the price diffence of both purchase and installation. (All my work is done by an A&P)

My EFIS is a D100. My understanding is that the D100 uses the same pitot as the HDX or AFS use. (so I'm good for upgrade when the D100 eventually goes Tango Unform)

I'm a fledgling IFR pilot and my intention is to be able to reduce my no-fly days by being able to punch out, fly over the mess, and land. I don't want to be LIFR or spend long times in IMC... just transistioning.

So... am I penny wise to opt for the non-heated version? Does it effect resell? Do you have heated and not need it? Do you have unheated and wish you had it?

Thanks,

If you plan to fly any time in IMC then I’d say a heated pitot tube is a necessity. You should never go into known icing conditions but sometimes it happens despite your best intentions. You don’t want to lose your airspeed and AOA when you are picking up ice and can’t see out of the plane.

Nobody ever said IFR is cheap. I notice you used EFIS in the singular. Do you have any other attitude backups? If no, then you have even bigger problems to deal with. How old is your EFIS? If you go back in time far enough, the Dynon EFIS needed airspeed data to reach an attitude solution. Might be time for that upgrade you mentioned.

Do you have heated and not need it?

Thanks,
BTW, the answer to the above question is, "Who knows?". The heated pitot is controlled by a temperature sensor, so if I was in conditions where I might have had pitot ice I really wouldn't know, since the heat is "automatic" (assuming I don't forget to turn it on).