What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What are mag failure symptoms?

Ron Lee

Well Known Member
The recent report of a PMag failure shows that in at least that case rough running and very high CHTs can be one symptom of a PMag failure.

I did have a Bendix mag impulse go out and the engine would not start. I also had a Lightspeed problem which I think was a connector corrosion problem. No problems with either system in-flight in about 1400 hours.

What are typical characteristics of possible failures of Bendix, Slick and Lightspeed systems?

What are typical characteristics of possible failures of Bendix, Slick and Lightspeed systems?

I've been flying since 1967 and have had one mag failure. It was the impulse mag and the engine would not start. However, there's that beautiful hindsight in that the engine had been more difficult to start for the preceding several months! Duh! BTW, the mag that failed had an unknown number of hours. Probably close to a thousand.

It surprised me...

....when the perfectly trimmed Cessna Agwagon I was ferrying started a descent without me having changed anything. For some reason I decided to do a mag check and it quit on one mag. Retrimmed, it was ever so slightly slower...a surprise.

Stuff happens,

1 for me too..

I had a mag fail in a Citabria on the 2nd flight of the day. It ran fine 5 minutes earlier. I did a run-up(always do) and it just wasn't running right. Started into the mag check and sure enough it died completely on 1 mag. I was stunned. So, I went flying anyway :)

John

p.s. I didn't really fly it, it was a joke. So, save the hate mail :)

My Mag Failure