What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Add To: Experimental Aircraft Rules

luv2flypilot

Well Known Member
Thanks Boomer for the post about experimental aircraft rules. I am learning quit a bit on this site. I am new to the experimental airplane world and am looking forward to soon get in an RV and sell my slug of a Cessna.

I have a few questions about experimental airplane flight restrictions that maybe some people can help me with. I remember when I received my Pilot's Certificate and all the long studying for the written test reading that experimental airplanes are restricted from flight in populated areas, however I see them flying in to KHWD (Hayward Airport, Bay Area Calif.) quit often where I keep my Cessna 172. What kind of restrictions may I run into if I get an RV? Can I still fly up the coast line and call Nor Cal for a sqwauk code and get clearance to fly over the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, which I due quit often?

Once you have flown off your flight test hours and are operating in Phase II, you flying freedom will be very much like a certificated aircraft with a few minor exceptions like informing ATC of the experimental nature of your aircraft. The "no operation over densely populated areas" is for phase I flight testing. During phase II, you may operate over densely populated area or in congested airspace if directed by ATC or you have sufficient altitude to effect a safe emergency landing in case of engine failure without hazard to persons or property on the ground.

Last edited:
With the proper equipment, same stuff you would need in your 172, you can do the same things in an RV that you can do in your 172. VFR, IFR, Day, Night, mix and match. Even go into space, ala Burt Rutans SpaceShip One :)

beattiema said: