What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

IO360 slight give when pushing/pulling on prop

TYK

I'm New Here
I normally use the tow bar to move my 14-A, but after doing some maintenance I took hold of the prop roots to move it around and noticed the prop has back and forth give to it. It feels like a thrust washer on the crank is missing or worn. it's a polished, close-tolerance oiled shaft feel, not like loose bolts.
It felt a bit excessive. Maybe an 1/8 inch? Maybe less.
I'm not an engineer or a NASA scientist, I'm a farmer accustomed to TLAR so I regrettably didn't think to measure the travel.

The forward/aft give in the crank doesn't seem right.
Is this normal?

About a year into this flying thing, so really appreciate what I've been able to learn from this community!

I don't think pulling on the prop is an acceptable method to measure end-play, at least not with any accuracy :) The tolerances are in the .002" to .007" range - you'll be able to feel something, but without a feeler gauge strategically placed, you won't know for sure.

If you were missing the thrust washer, or the tolerances were excessive, the engine would be making ALOT of aluminum.

See attached from the IO-360-N1 Overhaul manual (probably not your engine, but close enough for gov't work.)

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 11.22.34 AM.png
    Screenshot 2023-12-23 at 11.22.34 AM.png
    531.7 KB · Views: 61
Sounds normal to me. My O-360-A1A does the same thing.

I understand that there should be some fore-and-aft play, and if there is Zero play, it is cause for concern.

My Mooney M20e had the I0-360 A1A and most often I dragged it out of the hanger pulling at the base of the propeller blades. I too noticed a very slight fore/aft movement when giving a pull or push.
It did the same thing 300+ hours before overhaul and 200 hours after overhaul. I mentioned to my AME (mechanic) and he said not to worry, carry on.