What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Io-540 Magneto Pull

DillTen

Getting set to pull the magnetos off for their 500 hour service and this is my first time with direct-drive mags (used to ones with the gears attached). Having heard the horror stories of the cushions falling into the accessory case or worse — any tips and tricks to improve the chances of success, specifically during the magneto removal? Thanks y’all.

Getting set to pull the magnetos off for their 500 hour service and this is my first time with direct-drive mags (used to ones with the gears attached). Having heard the horror stories of the cushions falling into the accessory case or worse — any tips and tricks to improve the chances of success, specifically during the magneto removal? Thanks y’all.

Sorry no tips here. I bought a 540 core engine to rebuild and since has no mags. Can't remember how many cushions stayed in place, but found 5 o 6 of them in the oil sump.:eek: So it would seem to be a common issue. I am told the new ones have tabs to help hold them in place.

Last edited:
I've pulled mags a few times on the -540. Never had one of the rubber bumpers fall off. I use fuel lube to stick the bumpers in place when r&r'ing the mags and haven't had trouble with the bumpers falling off. They key is to have the mag properly clocked when you reinstall it.

io 540 pull

As Kyle mentioned its really no big deal. Pull the mags out and the rubber can be easily removed , they may even come out with the mags. Be sure to pin the mag in the right position when reinserting, reinstall the cushions with some lube or grease (just enough for it to stick inside) and dont forget TAKE THE PIN OUT first when retiming the mags. Its easier than it sounds, but grab another builder who has done this before to speed this along.

Bendix or Slick mags?

-Marc