What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Flying with Basic Med in Canada

As this is a legal question, and I am not a lawyer, don’t depend on my opinion!
1. If you want to land in Canada for gas, I think the answer is no.
2. If you can go over Canada but do not land (e.g. direct Bellingham WA to Ketichikan AK (lots of cold water)) this may be okay and certainly no one will check (similarly going direct upper Michigan to Buffalo NY). If you need to divert to Canada, there may be trouble.
I believe aopa is working on this by a ‘back door’ route, e.g., trying to get International’s approval for basic med which Canada would then follow.

I'm not a lawyer either, but I'm not that far from the Canadian border and have Basic Med. Here's what I found.

BasicMed – Flying in Canadian Airspace
Due to the non ICAO-compliant nature of the BasicMed regime, Transport Canada does not currently allow aircraft to be operated in Canadian airspace by U.S. pilots flying under BasicMed. This includes transiting without landing (i.e. to/from Alaska). COPA is currently collaborating with AOPA and Transport Canada on a way forward which would allow certain BasicMed operations that comply with the restrictions imposed on Canadian Recreational Pilot Permit Holders.

https://copanational.org/flying-in-...ying in Canadian Airspace,i.e. to/from Alaska).

Following that topic, here's a brainstorming session for lawyers. Does Canada have the same rules where a pilot can deviate from regulations during an emergency? If so what law would a BasicMed pilot flying from Michigan to New York who encounters an emergency in flight and is forced to land at a Canadian airport face?

I'm not a lawyer either, but I'm not that far from the Canadian border and have Basic Med. Here's what I found.

BasicMed – Flying in Canadian Airspace