VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics



Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > Safety
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-21-2013, 02:36 PM
jclark jclark is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 590
Default "Free" (DEMO) version of Xavion available

Got an email from Austin saying that he has ...

=======================
an Xavion DEMO out now called Xavion-SIM, that is free and powered by x-plane (but does not work in the real airplane)

this way, people can get the app for free and test it with x-plane, and then buy the full version if they like it

========================

Just FYI.

James
__________________
James E. Clark
Columbia, SC
RV6 Flying, RV6A Cowling
APRS
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-21-2013, 03:56 PM
mikehoover's Avatar
mikehoover mikehoover is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jclark View Post
Got an email from Austin saying that he has ...

=======================
an Xavion DEMO out now called Xavion-SIM, that is free and powered by x-plane (but does not work in the real airplane)

this way, people can get the app for free and test it with x-plane, and then buy the full version if they like it

========================

Just FYI.

James
Too late for me! Thanks to you and AirMel I have become a proud owner of Xavion. ) I'll have to take if for a test ride next time I go up. It's on my iPhone. I have iPad version 1, so it will not work on that.
__________________
Mike Hoover
Columbia, SC
www.aclog.com/rv-9a/
www.eaa242.com/
N194MH first flight on 08-26-12
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-23-2013, 05:51 PM
WB-avl WB-avl is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 52
Default Sim demo version!

Cool. Thanks for the info:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jclark View Post
Got an email from Austin saying that he has ...

=======================
an Xavion DEMO out now called Xavion-SIM, that is free and powered by x-plane (but does not work in the real airplane)

this way, people can get the app for free and test it with x-plane, and then buy the full version if they like it

========================

Just FYI.

James
__________________
William Byrum
Asheville, NC RV-7
empennage and wings done, working on QB fuselage...
2014 VAF supporter
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-16-2013, 06:14 AM
AirbusPilot AirbusPilot is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 433
Default

I hace downloaded Xavion app, and tried in my car on my mini ipad and garmin Glo and it seems to work ok, I am redoing my panel so my RV-8 won't be flying at least in a couple of weeks

Anyone has setup number for the app, I mean start performance number require by Xavion to work properly, I am being lazy here
__________________
Fernando Abasolo
Santiago Chile
Flying phase I RV-8 (SCSE) Serial Number 83290, Tail Number CC-AJC
Flying RV-8 (SCTB) Phase II 400 hours and counting since February 22nd 2010
Serial Number 82727, Tail Number CC-PXG
Lyc. IO-360, Hartzell Prop
VAF #2056
EAA Member 774981


http://picasaweb.google.com/fabasolo
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...hSl7QLjnOyjnyl
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-29-2013, 09:45 AM
apkp777's Avatar
apkp777 apkp777 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ormond-by-the Sea, FL
Posts: 1,942
Default

Any recent PIREPs? Getting ready to purchase this. My single screen Skyview system has had a few glitches and I need a different solution for back up instrumentation. This looks pretty good.
__________________
Tony Phillips
N524AP, RV 9 (tail wheel)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-29-2013, 11:32 AM
krw5927 krw5927 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 868
Default Glitches?

Can you elaborate on the glitches, Tony? Or PM if you don't wish to discuss publicly? I'd sure like to know what to watch out for.
__________________
Kurt W.
RV9A
FLYING!!!
2014 Dues Happily Paid
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-29-2013, 01:41 PM
apkp777's Avatar
apkp777 apkp777 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ormond-by-the Sea, FL
Posts: 1,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krw5927 View Post
Can you elaborate on the glitches, Tony? Or PM if you don't wish to discuss publicly? I'd sure like to know what to watch out for.
First, I love my SkyView and Dynon has done a great job providing support. But..After updating to 7.0 and on a flight over Chicago Class B my SkyView froze. It was unresponsive even the normal power up/down button did not work. I had to reboot by turning off my avionics master. Unfortunately the left me about 5 minutes altogether over O'Hare without a transponder. Other than in IMC, it was the worst possible time for a problem. The same thing happened one more time on my way home (was flying a 900 mile cross country).

Dynon was aware of the problem (called them when I got home) and had already provided a software update 7.01 (or something like that).

Just underscores the necessity for good standby instruments.
__________________
Tony Phillips
N524AP, RV 9 (tail wheel)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-29-2013, 02:21 PM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 394
Default Updated wind info

I emailed Austin regarding wind info. My question was wether or not the program took into account wind. The response: "you can enter winds manually
and, if you have an adsb receiver like the sagetech clarity or dual xgps170, then the winds are loaded automatically
as well, if you have a 4g pad or phone, then it will load that stuff before flight from the nearest cell tower as well". I also confirmed that with a cell signal in the air, wind info is auto updated. Very cool.
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N79LG
RV 9a
on the fuse.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-29-2013, 07:05 PM
schristo@mac.com's Avatar
schristo@mac.com schristo@mac.com is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WA
Posts: 862
Default I began flight tests with mine today...

I have just started to test Xavion on my new retina iPad mini today; playing with the landing guidance system and PFD including a simulated engine out at around 4 thousand feet several miles from the airport... it was a bit creepy flying the hoops but it sure worked out as planned. I need to adjust the glide rates down and do some more testing but I give it an initial thumbs up.

I did some aerobatics and found that the PFD carries a bit of lag and skew that corrects quickly after straight and level.

This shot shows the path, speed, and energy with while riding the hoops.

__________________
Stephen

RV7 powered by a lycoming thunderbolt IO-390 turning a whirlwind 200RV prop
flying with more than 1,000 on the hobbs
www.schristo.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-29-2013, 07:50 PM
N15JB N15JB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schristo@mac.com View Post
I have just started to test Xavion on my new retina iPad mini today;

Stephen,

What do you think of the retina iPad mini as far as sunlight readability? Any better than the old mini?

Jim Berry
RV-10
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.