What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What to look for in an RV-4?

Seppe

Hello all I've been a pilot flying a Cherokee since 2006. I have recently started flying an RV4 with about 40 hrs so far. I am loving it, this little plane is so docile and just a blast to fly. I am now leaning towards selling my Cherokee and upgrading to an RV4. I want to start looking very soon into this.

Now for all you RV4 owners/builders, can you give me some knowledge as to what I should be looking for in an already built RV4.

For example;

What flaws should I really be looking for in the build?

What years come with the longer gear, and is this better?

What year frames are actually better?

Is there supposed to be a G meter that is un-resettable to monitor the G stress levels on the RV?

I'm really wanting information on what to look at on the airframe. I know the engine and avionics are a whole separate case as far as value goes.

Any knowledgeable information that I can get would be so helpful. I appreciate any replies and look forward in talking with all of you.

Thank you

RV-4 info

Welcome to the fun.

What flaws should I really be looking for in the build?
Not so much as flaws but overall build quality. The only thing they really changed for structural reasons was the firewall gussets. You can search the forums for more info on those.

You'll find all sorts of year RV-4's with all sorts of gear arrangements. Just because it was finished in 2010 doesn't mean it wasn't purchased in 1990. The long gear gives you a little more prop clearance for wheel landings, lands just a touch slower in 3pt but it also is more springy and has more of a chance to shake when taxiing.

What year frames are actually better?
No difference really. Long gear and short cowling are the main visual differences.

Is there supposed to be a G meter that is un-resettable to monitor the G stress levels on the RV?