VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


  #1  
Old 05-10-2012, 12:15 PM
Fearless's Avatar
Fearless Fearless is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crestwood, KY
Posts: 675
Default GRT Sport EFIS, VPX Sport and NavWorx?

Is anybody on this forum running a combination of the GRT Sport EFIS, the VPX Sport electrical buss and the NavWorx ADS600-B box? I haven't purchased the NavWorx box yet but would like to add later. I plan to install a GRT SX100 for the passenger side as well as a two axis autopilot after I am out of phase 1 when money becomes available and then get the ADS-B box. I have already prewired for the other EFIS and autopilot. The VPX Sport is tying up the 4th serial input and output line so I am trying to figure out how to interface the serial input and output requirements for the NavWorx. My GRT Sport has the internal GPS. According to the wiring diagram I am out of connections on the GRT Sport. Were you able to get around this? I am feeding a GTX327 with the encoder output from the EFIS. One set of wires is the inter connection for the pilot and passenger EFIS and a GPS signal is running to my ACK E04 ELT.

I was thinking of using the autopilot servo wire that Stein sells to run from the NavWorx box. That would give me two 20ga and five 22ga wires for the ADS-B installation. The wiring diagram calls for shielded for some of the connections so the servo wire might be a no-no. If I have to go with shielded thats no big deal. Wire is cheap in the grand scheme of things.

I want to try to prewire for the NavWorx box while I have access in the tailcone. I have the G3 Ignition system and VPX box installed under the forward top skin so I don't have room for the NavWorx box behind the panel.

Upgrading to the Horizon EFIS which has more ports is out of the question.
__________________
Mike
RV-9A - finishing tasks/painting
Hangar acquired
DAR Inspection September 2014?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2012, 01:13 PM
RVbySDI's Avatar
RVbySDI RVbySDI is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tuttle, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,860
Default

Might I suggest calling (616) 245-7700 and asking Sandy to connect you with Carlos. Then run your questions by him and see what he has to say. No better way to get your answer than from the source of the equipment you are working with.
__________________
RVBYSDI
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2012, 01:54 PM
rv9av8tr's Avatar
rv9av8tr rv9av8tr is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 750
Default

When I've felt really "stuck", I've sent proposed wiring/pinout interface drawings to Carlos to look over. He's been extremely helpful and responsive.
__________________
Long-EZ built 1985 -> Sold 2007
RV-9A; N539RV First Flight: 7/2010
Building Log: www.mykitlog.com/n539rv
Build Pictures: http://picasaweb.google.com/mikerv9a
"It ain't what a man don't know that makes him a fool. It's all the things he does know that just ain't so" -Josh Billings
APRS Tracking: aprs.fi/n539rv
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2012, 02:55 PM
bullojm1's Avatar
bullojm1 bullojm1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 563
Default

Mike,

When you add your second screen, the SX100, it will have 4 serial ports. One of them will be used to talk to your primary SX200, and the other 3 can be used for whatever you want to connect. The GRT's will share all their information through the inter-screen connection.
__________________
Mike Bullock
RV-7, Flying!
http://www.rvplane.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2012, 07:16 PM
jclark jclark is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 595
Default

If you have not already, upgrade with the high speed processor and you get another serial port. Five instead of four. About 1/10th the cost of going to a Horizon. :-)

James
__________________
James E. Clark
Columbia, SC
RV6 Flying, RV6A Cowling
APRS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2012, 10:15 AM
Fearless's Avatar
Fearless Fearless is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Crestwood, KY
Posts: 675
Default

Mike,

I thought I'd might be able to tie into the ports on the second EFIS but wasn't really sure. I'll try to get ahold of GRT and have them explain to me how these various components talk to each other at what times.

James,

That would explain where a fifth port would come in on a Sport. I currently don't have the upgraded processor.

Thanks guys, thats what I was looking for - options. I'll go ahead and get the wires and antennas now to get that part taken care of.

I have been emailing with Mark at GRT.
__________________
Mike
RV-9A - finishing tasks/painting
Hangar acquired
DAR Inspection September 2014?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.