What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Petco aquarium pump Pirep..:)

frankh

Well Known Member
As some of you know I made a engine dehumidifier from two columns of coloured silica gel deissicant (Harbor Freight), a length of ABS pipe and a Petco aquarium pump..9902 I think is the model number... Its for a 60 gallon aquarium.

I have been running this pump for about 3 years and have been very happy with it. It has far more air output than the little tetris pumps.

Well the last couple of months I noticed the dessicant was lasting much longer before changing colour, I pulled the tube off the breather yesterday and found the flow had gone to almost zero.

That pump was a whole 15 bucks so feeling totally cheated I took the pump apart and found there are actually two pumps in one.. The diaprham had ruptured on the side I was using.

So I simply swapped to the other side and plugged it back in. Now of course the diapharam on the other side has been used for just as long so I don't know how long it will last.

It occured however that one could effectively double the life of the pump by removing the unused diaphram when first purschased and keeping it as a spare.

I mean why not.. Not as cheap as making your own earpices for the in ear headsets from foam earplugs but close..:)

Frank

What is an engine de-humidifier for? Do you hook it up to your engine after flying to get get moist air out?

Hook to the crankcase breather or where?

Curious

What is an engine de-humidifier for? Do you hook it up to your engine after flying to get get moist air out?

You got it.

Hook to the crankcase breather or where?

Curious

Exactly right. I just built one of my own using one of the tetris pumps. Works pretty good. I also incorporated a 100w light bulb to dry out the dessicant on occasion. There are a variety of complex ways to wire this together, but I went simple and am happy so far.