What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Beside Fluid and Paint

DonFromTX

Well Known Member
OK so Vans says all you need is fluid and paint, but obviously we need tools and other expendables. I am just getting started, but I detest these holdups for stuff I did not anticipate (been waiting a week for a Molex crimper). Can anyone give me a hint of what I should be looking to acquire NOW to preclude holdups down the line? (I am starting on the fuselage now)

Vans says all you need is fluid and paint
That is true for the most part, but there are exceptions for every rule. They do not supply the rubber control stick grips or end plugs that you can buy at a bicycle shop. I would also buy a couple of switches to replace those cheap Radio Shack switches that Van's gives you for Push To Talk. Fiberglass cloth and resin and peel-ply and latex gloves and a gram scale (accurate to 0.1 grams) and tongue depressors and mixing cups, all will be needed for the canopy fairing, which I found to be the most challenging part of the airplane. Various sizes of syringes available at farm supply stores for testing the pitot static system and for applying gas tank sealant. Of course you will never have enough tools. There will always be one more that you need (or want). There will always be supplies or tools or parts that you need and will have to wait for. Accept that fact and try to have some other job to work on. And have fun.
Joe

Last edited:
Thanks JOE, most helpful information - and I AM having fun! :)
I was wondering which package the stick grips were in!

Last edited: