What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Highest to lowest airports (Lower 48 USA)

Ron Lee

Well Known Member
I have been considering another trip to Death Valley/Las Vegas for a few months. A major purpose was to get to Badwater to see the lowest spot in the continental USA. Weather and other factors delayed it until a point where Rick decided he could go too. So this past week offered an apparent window to get there and back under reasonably favorable conditions.

Other trip objectives were to fly to Leadville CO to do a touch and go at the highest US airport then work our way to Death Valley to make a T&G at the lowest. I also wanted to fly around Mineral Canyon a bit to show Rick what that was like and possibly overfly the Grand Canyon.

We depart from two different airports within a minute and meet up at Leadville. I made a straight in to the north while Rick entered left downwind. Here I am on final to Leadville:

Leadville1Small.jpg

We head northwest to stay out of the Aspen flight path. Here is a picture of the snow covered mountains just northwest of Leadville:

MtnsSmall.jpg

Near Grand Junction CO (KGJT) Rick determined that our fuel reserve at the planned fuel stop (Page AZ, KPGA) would only be six gallons. Our ground speeds were 20 knots less than we planned on so it was an easy decision to land at KGJT and refuel. We did that and made our reservations for that night at Las Vegas. Surprisingly, what we saw the day before for a room rate ($50) was now $5000 or $10,000. Neither of us wanted to pay that much so we switched hotels with another fuel stop planned for Kanab, UT (KKNB). The high winds were such that we had to do it.