What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Aftermath

Mike S

Senior Curmudgeon
Aftermath-------no, it is not when you are finished with the W/B figures.

It has now been a little over 24 hours since I made my first flight on the RV10 that has been a major focus of my life for a few years. I just need to express a few of the many emotions that have been running (trampling?) through my brain.

The "RV Grin":D Yep, it was there, even though there was no one there to see it when I landed, didnt even have a mirror to see it myself. But, it was there that is for sure.

Apprehension?? In spades. Tons of it in fact. I have not been solo in an aircraft for over 3 years, and not even done a lot of flying in that time-----maybe 10-15 hours in a buddies 10, strictly as a passenger. And another 5.3 hours of transition training with Mike Seager in the factory 10, 92 days prior.

I have been a pilot for close to 2/3 of my 62 trips around the sun, and the last 20 years of flying were in the same aircraft-----a Stinson 108-3, that was the same age as I am, and like me, was a bit heavy and draggy, with not a lot of power. Kinda like in the old Howlin Wolf classic, "built for comfort not built for speed". I knew the Stinson like the back of my hand, and flying it was almost boring at times.

When I took the transition training, the difference between the Stinson and the RV 10 was like night and day, squared. I did not get to the point that I felt "comfortable" with the 10, but I did achieve a feeling of "competency"-----after Mike told me not to worry, you will do fine.