What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Best cordless screwdriver-Hitachi

Pmerems

Well Known Member
Advertiser
Gents,

I wanted to pass along my experience with the Hitachi DB3DL cordless screwdriver. I have been using it for about 12 months and I now believe I have enough time in use to provide feedback.

Cordless_Screwdrivers.jpg

I was looking for a cordless screwdriver with an adjustable slip clutch so I can adjust for the type of screw I was going to drive. I have all sorts of battery powered hand drills with clutches but I wanted a dedicated small cordless screwdriver. Another important requirement was state of the art betteries. I have many NiCad batteries for my drills that don't hold a charge and they are expensive to replace. I also hate picking up a drill and finding even though the battery was charge two months ago it was now dead. So the cordless screwdriver needed to have Lithium-ion batteries.

After visiting Lowes and HD, which didn't have anything that met my requirements, I searched the internet and found the Hitachi. I ordered it and began testing it. It met and exceeded my expectations. It comes with two batteries and holds a charge for months/years, I don't really know but it holds for a very very long time. And when in use it drives many screws (RV interior screws). It has a high and low speed setting and a 21 position clutch. It has some other nice features like a two position handle (straight and ~45 degrees) and has an LED light for illumination.

The Hitachi isn't cheap, around $60 but it worth every penny.

If you family is bugging you for Christmas present ideas and you are in need of the cordless screwdriver, then I highly recommend the Hitachi.