VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 07-13-2010, 06:05 PM
s24789 s24789 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hobe Sound, Florida
Posts: 257
Question Fuel Sender Float Arm Rotates in Cradle

I configured the float and arm for my Stewart Warner senders. When I placed the arm in the "cradle" it did not want to come loose but could rotate freely. Anyone have a suggestion to keel the float arm from rotating in the sender cradle ?
Thanks in Advance
S24789
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2010, 06:10 PM
Wayne Gillispie Wayne Gillispie is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,494
Default Check instructions that came with sender...

it says to bend approx .65" 90 degree on end to insert in hole. Deburr end first. I hope this helps. If already cut it may be too short.
__________________
Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2016, 02:23 AM
rdamazio's Avatar
rdamazio rdamazio is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 145
Default

It doesn't help either of us, but I'm relieved to see that I was not the only one cutting it too short before realizing it should go *into* the hole :/ now looking for the replacement float wire, which seems to be PN 836092.
__________________
Rodrigo Damazio Bovendorp
San Jose, CA
RV-10 builder #41623
Build log at http://www.airplane.build/
VAF dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2016, 07:21 AM
aerhed aerhed is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Big Sandy, WY
Posts: 2,566
Default

Welcome to the straight rod society.
__________________
Actual repeat offender.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2016, 09:12 AM
riobison riobison is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oliver BC & Red Deer Alberta Canada
Posts: 308
Default

My sending unit was leaking so I just changed one in my RV 4 and made the same mistake. I replicated the bends otherwise from the previous float arm and now I'm out of fuel when it shows an 1/8 of a tank remaining. I'm not happy with the result and it means pulling the tank this winter and changing the arm.

Even with my best reading glasses on and good lighting the picture and instructions were not very clear. I'm still surprised at the result. Mistakes like this that I make only confirms the fact that I'm happy buying a plane that someone else built and not doing the building myself.

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2016, 01:40 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,267
Default

Many, many....many folks have made the mistake of missing that little bend on the end. It's on the drawings, but you have to look for it. To be honest, RV builders are pretty spoiled when it comes to detailed parts drawings - we hardly have to ever look at them ( unless you're building a -3 that is...). We have to most of the fabrication of parts on the brand "S" we're working on, and spend a great deal of time decoding parts drawings in advance of cutting material - it's east to build flanges backwards, and you can guess how I know!

Paul
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2016, 02:25 PM
pilotmansam pilotmansam is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Newberry, SC
Posts: 23
Default Changing sending units

I believe both of my units may have this problem. I've seen posts that say you can change them out from the wing root w/o pulling the tanks. But can you really? BTW, I'm referencing an RV-6
__________________
Sam Hart
Newberry, SC
RV-6A N7228Z
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2016, 02:35 PM
rdamazio's Avatar
rdamazio rdamazio is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 145
Default

Btw, I realized Van's sells just the arm - item "IE F-385 FLOAT ARM".
__________________
Rodrigo Damazio Bovendorp
San Jose, CA
RV-10 builder #41623
Build log at http://www.airplane.build/
VAF dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2016, 02:36 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotmansam View Post
I believe both of my units may have this problem. I've seen posts that say you can change them out from the wing root w/o pulling the tanks. But can you really? BTW, I'm referencing an RV-6
Not quite as easy as on later model RV that has more clearance - but yes, you can get the sender out of the hole without pulling the tanks. How easy it is depends on what theories the builder subscribed to regarding screw heads, gaskets, and sealant.
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:29 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.