What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

I have an official airplane!

RVbySDI

Well Known Member
I have been building for five years now. I picked up my RV9A project from a fellow builder who had started building in 2001. He had completed all the tail feathers, ailerons and flaps. I picked up the rest in boxes ready to start my own building project. Ken, if you are out there, she is finally a legal airplane.

Anyway, on June 17, 2005 I started this trek of building an RV9A. Well, without going into a long dissertation that will just bore anyone reading this, I want to post that on Monday, June 7, 2010 my local FISDO office signed off on all the airworthiness paperwork necessary to make this project an actual registered and airworthy aircraft.

Here is a recent picture just from a week ago just prior to having the inspection.
http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/7672/img0414qx.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I have so many people to thank for helping on this project. If I do not mention someone here please note I am eternally grateful for everyone involved. Of the utmost importance to mention is my wife for getting on board with this project. She has spent 5 years of having me postpone many "Honey Do" list items in order to work on the airplane.

I could not have completed this airplane if it were not for my good friend Clark Taylor. Clark is not an RV builder but he is an extremely experienced machinist who has spent his entire adult life working on every imaginable thing that could be built by man. Without his assistance I know I truly could not have completed this airplane.