What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Think I'll Stay on the Ground Today

longranger

Well Known Member
IMHO, sealing tanks would be more fun than flying around this thing.:eek:
nzp1rc.jpg

Tehachapi, CA, Nov. 14 2009

Always better to be on the ground wishing you were in the air, than to be in the air wishing you were on the ground....

Weather noob here.... what is it?

Lenticular cloud
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Lenticular cloud

Lenticular cloud above northern Presidential Range, NH
Genus Alto- (Latin for high)
-cumulus (Latin: heap)
Species lenticularis (Latin: lens-shaped)
Altitude 6,000-12,000 m
(20,000-40,000 ft)
Classification Family A (High-level)
Appearance lens-like
Precipitation cloud? Sometimes
This box: view ? talk

Altocumulus lenticularis often forms in the lee of mountains.Lenticular clouds are stationary lens-shaped clouds that form at high altitudes, normally aligned perpendicular to the wind direction. Lenticular clouds can be separated into altocumulus standing lenticularis (ACSL), stratocumulus standing lenticular (SCSL), and cirrocumulus standing lenticular (CCSL).

Contents [hide]
1 Formation
2 Flight
3 Gallery
4 See also
5 References
6 External links

[edit] Formation