VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 08-17-2009, 11:33 AM

Default Why Argue? Call the FAA FSDO.

In reading a recent post, I am reminded of all the conflicting advice that at times goes on here. What comes to mind is a simple solution when people have that occasional reg question, why not just go to the horses mouth and call your local FSDO? (No, I don't work for the FAA). In my nearly 40 years of being a pilot, I have called them on several occasions, and they are always willing to help. On a recent call, I had an obscure question that I could not find an answer to in the regs (another excellent source of info, imagine that!). It pertained to lighting at a private heliport. The FAA person did not know, but took my info, researched the question, and got back to me. Just my .02 cents.
Old 08-17-2009, 12:08 PM

Unfortunately, this totally depends on the FSDO. They seems to have their own personalities. Some are homebuilt friendly, other cannot be bothered. Some support GA, other see GA as a dying part of aviation and the quicker it dies the better. Less paper work for them.

A month and 1/2 ago we had a FSDO inspector ramp check one of our EAA members during a flyin breakfast. Put a chill over the whole airport. The attendance at the next fly in breakfast (this last Saturday) we had was 1/2 of what it was the previous month. Nice.
RV-15 : High Wing E-LSA On Order, w/ Removable Door Option.

Last edited by Geico266 : 08-17-2009 at 12:18 PM.
Old 08-17-2009, 12:15 PM

Default good luck