What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How to remove the wing bolts

N941WR

Legacy Member
I'm posting this over here because most of the -9's are -9A's and I have a taildragger w/o those pesky gear towers getting in the way.

Today I tried and failed to remove my wings. The reason was the lower right AN4 bolt on the right side did not want to come out.

This bolt is inserted from the aft of the spar and points forward.

We have tried to drive it out with a rivet gun, pull it out with a 3' crowbar, hammer it with a drift pin, etc. All while wiggling the wing and turning the now stripped bolt head. :eek:

If any of you have any suggestions for removing that offending bolt, I would like to hear it.

cool/freeze locally

I am not an expert but what if somehow to cool or freeze the bolt. Freezing locally using something like liquid nitrogen:eek: while exercising mechanically. Just a thought out of the box.

Can you put in drift pins for the other bolts and then wiggle the wing around? With this bolt being the last one in, I think you might be seeing some binding between the center section and the spar.

Slide Hammer

A friend used his good bolts to temp install the wings on a 9A. He needed a way to get them back out. If you can get the bolt out 1/4" or so this might work. He built a slide hammer out of black iron pipe. He cut a slot in about a 1 1/4"-1 1/2" cap the width of the bolt diameter, screwed it onto as long of a section of pipe as would fit into the fuse before hitting something. He slid a nipple about 6"-8" long of a larger size (maybe 2") onto it. He then put another cap on the other end of the small pipe. Slammed 6"-8" nipple against the last installed cap until he got the bolts out. Hope you get the idea.

Be careful using a drift punch. You will flare the end of the bolts.

Alan Jackson

Try this

Hi Bill,