What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Paul goes flying!!!

dougweil

Well Known Member
Hi gang:

This is such a great story I have to pass it along. The father and son team of Paul and Eric Petersen started their RV-6A WAY back in 1992. This summer their new RV finally made it's first flight with super test pilot Tom Irlbeck at the controls. As Paul told me it only took them 5685 days to finish the project! Paul is a peach of a guy and a consulting engineer by trade. He has forgotten a zillion times more than I'll ever know about things technical and he has always been a great resource to the members of the Minnesota RV Builder's Club.

Over the years Paul has been challenged by MS but it has hardly slowed him down. He always attends our meetings zipping around in his electric scooter sporting his trademark tam-o-shanter gracing us with his ever-present grin. Paul and his son Eric (who is working on his private license) never faltered in plugging away on their -6A.

After Tom finished flying off the test time, he called me one day and told me he had to figure out a way to get Paul in his airplane and so he could finally fly his handiwork. I figured Tom would find a way especially turning Paul and his son Eric respective engineering minds loose on the task. So a few days ago, Paul went flying with Tom with mechanical help from Eric. I think the photos speak for themselves!!

sept08rv003b1mw4.jpg

sept08rv004b1hs7.jpg

sept08rv005e1xi2.jpg

sept08rv009b1ix0.jpg

Last edited:
Great Story

Wow, what a great story. Those are memories that will stand the test of time.

Outstanding!!! Best thing I've read in a long time, Doug. Thanks for posting!!!

b,d

I have thought about doing that for less than full ambiltory folks, but never have. I would rent a high wing and take them for a cruise, but it's not an RV.

Well done! That really warmed my heart this am.

A little more of who Paul is: