What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oshkosh safety

RickWoodall

Well Known Member
This is my first year being here early and enjoying the mass arrivals and trying to learn, for my time to fly in a couple years down the road.
AMAZING, how good 99.5% of pilots are, and how bad the last small portion are.
An RV on final was told to pull up and go around 3 times. Yelled at by tower and proceded to land. completely ignoring all instructions. A HUGE (largest i have seen come in) jet on IFR very close final had to pull up and do a low veer off. The rv pilot didnt have a clue. Very dangerous.

Further, all sorts of folks trying to close flight plans, call in from 20 miles out etc on wrong frequency. Some of these folks never even opened the NOTAM.

Great learning experience but BE SAFE. There are some great pilot and beautiful planes coming in. Kids say its "cool" and wife got to ride the mechanical bull at FORD booth and was filmed by Aeronews. Good times.

Every year

there are threads like this that get started, and I agree, there are enough idiots flying to OSH to give me the shivers...I have the ATC feed from OSH playing and just heard the following:
Inbound: Oshkosh, I'm inbound to Oshkosh, I'm not sure of my location, I'm over a two lane highway and there are planes all around me, I have less than thirty minutes of fuel on board and I need to land, can i just follow the planes in front of me on into the field?
ATC: What town are you near sir?
Inbound: I don't know, I'm near a two lane highway, I see the runways now, I'm going to follow the plane in front of me and land behind him if he's cleared to land, is he cleared to land? can I do that?

Simply amazing...and we wonder why we get bad press sometimes!!!

Bob: