What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Smile cowl inlet

rv8ch

Well Known Member
Patron
Does anyone know where I can get one of these "smile" style
cowl inlets? They look pretty neat, and if they actually work,
that would be icing. Thanks!

DSC03214.sized.jpg

I'm sure the original cowl inlet could be reworked to that shape. You would need to maintain the original area (or larger) to prevent restricting airflow.

Roberta

Hi Mickey,
Jon Johanson's Flymore inc sells them. But I do believe you must have FI for it to work.
Best of Luck,
Kirk RV-8 Fuse

rv8ch said:
Does anyone know where I can get one of these "smile" style
cowl inlets? They look pretty neat, and if they actually work,
that would be icing. Thanks!

Yep, sure do. Just build a F1 Rocket!! :D

I think you might be better off putting the smile inlet more flush on the cowl, right below the spinner if your going for that. To me, and i'm no expert, that doesn't look as efficient a design as a regular round ram inlet.

f1rocket said:
Yep, sure do. Just build a F1 Rocket!! :D
Let's see if I can slip that one by my wife!

Is that a standard cowl inlet for the F1 Rocket? I've seen them on RVs, too, so perhaps they had the Flymore product. I'm really just looking for the smile shape to glue onto the cowl. It's not for my induction system, but for my oil cooler. With the Eggenfellner Subaru that's where the oil cooler is located.

Hi Mickey.

That is a standard Rocket part, although there are at least two types because the one Mark Frederick sold me is flat across the top :). Given what you pay for shipping, you might want to roll your own. Look at James Redmon's Berkut site for details on how he made his oil cooler duct--the same principle should apply to yours.

James Freeman

Myth Buster? That is not a good location

osxuser said: