What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Wrestling with the engine mount

chris mitchell

Well Known Member
For a bit of light relief this evening I studied the engine mount and firewall. The predrilled holes in the firewall look to be pretty accurate compared to the drawing on drawing number 49. The mount itself is not so accurate.

Across the top it should be 33 1/2" - its actually 33 3/8", across the bottom it should be 29 1/4" and is 29 3/16 but most alarmingly the vertical dimension which should be 19" is only 18 11/16". It is possible to "spring" the mount a bit but I was uncomfortable with the idea of it all being "pre-stressed". I appreciate however that welding that kind of structure is not going to be easy to build completely accurately - so are these dimensions acceptable? I'd be interested in other experiences. May be I'm worrying too much (he typed, hopefully).

Thanks

Chris

i match drilled

When I "test" fitted, I noticed the holes were a little off too. My motivation for the test for was that I acquired a fuselage rotisserie (yea, great tool). Anyway I wanted the actual firewall holes to match the engine mount not the rotisserie brackets.

Engine not hung yet, and the engine mount is hanging on the wall, but the firewall holes match it.

$.02

Dave

So, did it match?

Hi Dave

I missed whether your motor mount matched the pre-drilled holes or whether you made a modification. I am about at that same spot, but have yet to match things up to see how it fits.

Michael Wynn
RV 8 Fuselage
San Ramon

fire wall holes didn't match the mount -

Hi,
My firewall holes did not align 100%. Diagonally it looked like maybe 1/16 +/- off. I picked top right (pilot side), drilled it, slipped a bolt through to hold, then did lower left and so on.