What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

DE-certified RV

pacer18a

Currently looking at a damaged and de-certified RV -6 with no paper work. We are new to experimental and RV aircraft. Have just completed a Tripacer project. What trouble/hoops will we have to jump through to get an RV registered and certified once it is de-certified and no paper work is available.
Trying to decide if buying this wreck is a good idea and if we could get it certified again. Looking for your input.

The Albatross Rule

It is my understanding that only the builder can apply for a reissuance of an airworthiness certificate once the original has been surrendered. However, I am no expert and cannot refer you to a particular FAR. My guess is that this 'decertification' was done in an attempt to limit liability on the part of the builder. I would be concerned that this collection of damaged airplane parts cannot be granted a new experimental airworthiness certificate unless the original builder (ie: the manufacturer) applies for it. If this is so, I propose that it be called the Albatross Rule.

Steve is right. Once an amateur-built has been "de-certified", it's over. To get an amateur-built certified, someone has to sign form 8130-12 swearing that "he/she built the aircraft for his/her own education or recreation." Falsification of this statement is punishable by fines up to $10,000, imprisonment of up to 5 years, or both.

What about just starting all over, after all you will have to put a lot of time into it, rebuilding it. Put it in as a plans built aircraft. Call it a ___ special.

How about---------

Buy a set of plans from Vans, get a builder #, buy parts as needed, use the good parts from the wrecked airplane.

You will be creating an entirely new aircraft, using some old parts. O.K., lots of old parts.