What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-3 Tail Kit Arrival

iwannarv

Well Known Member
Well I am finally getting around to posting the arrival of the RV3 tail kit - had the last couple weeks of high school, and graduated last saturday, so I've been busy finishing things up!

Many people probably followed the story of this tail kit. It was offered by Mr. Ken Simmons as a free kit to a good home. However, the reciever had to pick the kit up in Oregon, and I am in Kansas. I asked if we could arrange shipping, because I am an 18 year old pilot, and have a passion for RVs and experimental aviation. Many supporters of this site began to donate toward shipping the kit. At this point I was already in shock! As support grew, so did my excitement! Tony Partain then offered free shipping of the kit, so the money raised was put into a gift certificate for tools and such for building the tail. I shared this experience with my local EAA chapter, and they too are as excited as I am! I have great support from local builders who are willing to help out! I have recieved misc. hardware, the gift certificate, many words of encouragement, even an instrument panel ready for instruments from a local RV3 builder (Bob Vasey) who had it extra, just for motivation :) .

Tail Kit:
0000028fy9.jpg

Many thanks go to Ken Simmons, Tony Partain, Doug Reeves, and all VAF and EAA members who are supporting this project. It is you guys who make dreams come true! This is a great opportunity for me that I am very lucky to be a part of! At the moment, I am getting a workspace set up, and beginning to gather tools, review plans, etc.

p.s. - My EAA chapter president made some phone calls, and I recieved a call from David Hipschman - editor of EAA Sport Aviation. He would like to do a story about my experience and the generous support among EAA members.

This better? :D

0000027ie5.jpg