VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:27 AM
Av8torTom's Avatar
Av8torTom Av8torTom is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 1,147
Default Input Needed

Hello - I'm starting to think about the layout of my panel. Will be VFR, day/night. I'm thinking one 10" and one 7" Dynon, but not married to any manufacturer at this point. Input greatly appreciated. Also, where are most people placing their main electrical bus in the 9A?

__________________
RV-9A (empennage completed, both wings completed, ready to hang engine)
N677AT reserved
Superior XP O-320, 160HP
Picture log: http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/j...8tor215/RV-9A/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:43 AM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 14,088
Default

It would appear you are using a keyed ignition/start switch.

They are kinda bulky----so be sure you leave adequate room around the body of the switch.

Your breaker grid might need more room for vertical spacing, due to size/shape of the breaker body.

Xpnder?
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:47 AM
Av8torTom's Avatar
Av8torTom Av8torTom is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 1,147
Default Thanks

Hey Mike thanks for the heads-up.

I was thinking of the Dynon transponder module. I believe it interfaces thru the EFIS?
__________________
RV-9A (empennage completed, both wings completed, ready to hang engine)
N677AT reserved
Superior XP O-320, 160HP
Picture log: http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/j...8tor215/RV-9A/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:50 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,446
Default

What I would do:
- Move the airspeed and altimeter steam gauges to above the radio stack, side by side, airspeed on left.
- Move the left 10” SkyView display further to the left.
- Move the radio stack to the left, just on the right side of the left display.
- Add the SKyView knob module under the left display, or under the intercom module (the best money you will spend on the panel)
- Replace the 7” right display with anther 10” SkyView display, just to the right of the radio stack. Normal use for the right display tends to be engine monitoring and the map “Scratch Pad”. This is the map that I use to look out for weather, get weather reports, look for TFRs etc. It is also big enough to be the primary display for the pilot, and makes flying in the right seat easy.

This is about what I have in the RV-10 (second panel integration) and it works well. If I changed anything, I’d leave out the altimeter (but keep the airspeed). I find I never use it. I do use the round airspeed for take off and landing.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:54 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8torTom View Post
Hey Mike thanks for the heads-up.

I was thinking of the Dynon transponder module. I believe it interfaces thru the EFIS?
The Dynon SkyView XPDR is a no brainer. Good price, does TIS on the primary display, and configuring for ADS-B out compliance is simple.

The transponder integrates seamlessly with the SkyView.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:58 AM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 14,088
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8torTom View Post
Hey Mike thanks for the heads-up.

I was thinking of the Dynon transponder module. I believe it interfaces thru the EFIS?
Kinda figured that, just checking to be sure.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2018, 01:52 PM
rv7charlie rv7charlie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pocahontas MS
Posts: 2,834
Default

If you're married to breakers (I'm not), wiring the hot 'buss' is a bigger project in a 2D array than a 1D array (line). And orders of magnitude more expensive than ATO fuses, but that's an individual choice.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2018, 02:12 PM
sglynn's Avatar
sglynn sglynn is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 606
Default Panel

Hi, I just did my panel with Dynon HDX and D6 for backup EFIS and Garmin 430 for legal IFR.

If you are VFR only I would not bother with any backup steam gauges. The HDX is all you need. You really don't need a second screen.

You might check out audio panels by PS Engineering. They have have some cool features and are not too expensive.
__________________
Steve Lynn
RV-7A
90% Finished
Working on Wiring
Only panel left to go.
Anacortes, WA
www.mykitlog.com/sglynn
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2018, 04:14 PM
Av8torTom's Avatar
Av8torTom Av8torTom is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 1,147
Default Thanks everyone

Thanks for all the input.

I'm still looking for advice for the lest place to locate the main electric bus
__________________
RV-9A (empennage completed, both wings completed, ready to hang engine)
N677AT reserved
Superior XP O-320, 160HP
Picture log: http://s271.photobucket.com/albums/j...8tor215/RV-9A/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2018, 04:47 PM
sglynn's Avatar
sglynn sglynn is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 606
Default VP-X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8torTom View Post
Thanks for all the input.

I'm still looking for advice for the lest place to locate the main electric bus
I would use VP-X. I did use the equivalent red box from Advanced Systems. These are power distribution and switching boxes that also provide circuit breaker functionality. I mounted it right behind the HDX screen on the subpanel. If necessary I can access it by removing the big screen.
__________________
Steve Lynn
RV-7A
90% Finished
Working on Wiring
Only panel left to go.
Anacortes, WA
www.mykitlog.com/sglynn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.