What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Sub in a cherry for standard rivet?

byastremski

I'm New Here
Hey Guys and Gals,
I am new to building and have a quick question about subbing in a cherry rivet for an standard flush. If this topic has already been in a post let me know and I will have this one removed.

I am about to prime and rivet my HS and a useful trick has been mentioned and I would like to know its validity. Is it common practice to substitute a standard flush rivet for a pulled rivet in these tight spaces where a standard slim bucking bar even has a hard time getting to? I have seen/heard of a few tricks for these locations, but feel a pulled rivet will have the least likelihood of me causing damage. I understand there will be a small amount of filler/sanding required to clean up the head of the pulled rivet to keep my skin looking smooth. I inserted a few pictures of where it might come in handy. Like I said, I am only priming my HS and have not yet even looked too far ahead. Just circled a few parts on the plans that look a tad...snug.

Thought?

Thank you.

SoVw8xc.jpg

Ii2hBtk.jpg

z58CcLA.jpg

Substitute rivet

okIf memory serves, there is a note somewhere to allow a substitute pull rivet in the last two skin holes on the rudder and elevators where it gets really tight. MK-319-BS
I don't see it needed on the HS and VS.
There are tricks to setting rivets in those tight spots.
1. No hole squeezer hoke.
2. Lay the part down on a back rivet plate. Use a big flat blade screwdriver as the drive by placing the flat blade on the rivet and driving on the screwdriver as close as possible with the gun.

Last edited:
Hey Guys and Gals,
I am new to building and have a quick question about subbing in a cherry rivet for an standard flush. If this topic has already been in a post let me know and I will have this one removed.

Thought?

Thank you.