What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dynon EFI

Ted Farmin

Well Known Member
Has anyone out there been using the Dynon flight instrument and able to give a report on seeing in the sun, dependability, and whether they would buy one again.
Ted

I've been flying with my Dynon for almost 2 years and I love it. It is very readable from directly in front of it even in direct sun. As with most LCD displays it gets more difficult to see from the side. I wouldn't trade it for the new D10A because of the transponder issue. The D10A will only work with serial transponders. If you have a transponder that uses gray code (which most do), you get to buy an additional adapter.
Mel...DAR

Dyno EFIS

Ted Farmin said:
Has anyone out there been using the Dynon flight instrument and able to give a report on seeing in the sun, dependability, and whether they would buy one again.
Ted
Although I don't have first hand experiance with the dynon I have been told that dynon gave money back to some folks because of a gyro problem. Cnieseln at aveo said this. Aveo also makes an EFIS that is reportedly better. Also cheaper too. They will be at Oshkosh later this year and now have full color.
Lee

Although I don't have first hand experiance with the dynon I have been told that dynon gave money back to some folks because of a gyro problem. Cnieseln at aveo said this. Aveo also makes an EFIS that is reportedly better.

I think we would be well served to be very suspicious of adverse product opinions from competitors who have a "reportedly" better product and offer second and third hand reports of their competitor's business practices.