What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How to repair stiffeners showing through skin?

JeffM

I'm New Here
Ok, let me elaborate. I bought this tail kit partially completed, the previous builder appears to have done good work (ok, I'm a amateur myself but I don't see anything really wrong) except for a couple little things. The biggest one to me is on the rudder skin, he had forced it closed using clecos before he bent the trailing edge. Because of this every third stiffener has a little mark on the skin, visible from the outside. I was hoping when I bent it, that maybe they'd go away... well I was wrong. Do you think a small padded hammer could massage them down? I really want to polish my bird when she's all done. It doesn't slap you in the face, but it not being right keeps eating away at me.

Here's an example;
20150322_122836_zpsthtcuyen.jpg

Am I just being to anal about this, or what do you think?

Thanks,
Jeff

Could it be the tip of the opposite stiffener poking up. If so, you can't bump them down without trimming the stiffener ends a touch.

I'm thinking that since he didn't have the trailing edge bent at all, when he forced the skin closed the stiffeners were pushing hard into the skin. They resisted hard enough that they put a permanent dent on it. Now that I have the trailing edge bent to shape I can't imagine them touching anymore.

In my opinion, this is very minor. It was common on the early kits for the opposite stiffener to slightly crease the skin WHEN folded. This was a sign of doing the bend "right". The skins where also .016.
However, I agree with you in that this crease is not offset but in line with the end of that stiffener.
I do not believe there is anything you can do. The risk of making it worse far out weighs this minor flaw in my opinion.

Ditto