Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > The Never Ending Debate Section > Primers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-01-2015, 06:55 PM

Default PreKote + Akzo - what am I doing wrong?

Hi all.

I chose to use PreKote + Akzo for my plane, and today I did my first primer test on some scrap pieces, which I don't think went very well. I used a HVLP gun set at 20psi, but the end result looks like this:

I tried a few different adjustments on the gun (pattern, air flow, etc.) but it didn't seem to improve - is this the way it's supposed to look? Assuming not, any hints on what I may be doing wrong?

(total primer/painting newbie here btw)

Thanks!
RV-10 builder #41623
Build log at http://www.airplane.build/
VAF dues paid
Old 03-01-2015, 07:29 PM

Interesting - is that 20psi at the gun? I'm guessing your pressure is too low. A pic for comparison:

Build: http://hhav8or.blogspot.com/
Old 03-01-2015, 07:51 PM

Default Spraying primer

20 psi is about right if it's at the gun. You should have a flow valve with a gauge right at the gun. Maybe a water/oil filter and flow valve if your in a humid environment. The manufacturer recommended psi is a good start. 23 on mine. Also it will recommend a starting point for the needle valve position. 3/4 turn open on mine. You should see the fan of paint when you pull the trigger to the paint position. The trigger has two positions. When you first squeeze, it feeds air. As you pull farther the paint flows. This allows you to keep the air flowing and control the paint. Most guns have the fan control almost wide open.
It looks like very little or nothing came out.
Try spraying something cheap like lacquer thinner or even water to see how the trigger works and what the fan looks like when the liquid flows.
wirejock at yahoo dot com
Donated 12/27/2018. Plus a little extra.