What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Crankshaft Seal Tool 5209

andyrv

Well Known Member
Had the unfortunate experience of a leaking crankshaft seal this month but wanted to recommend a tool I found a while back. The ATS crankshaft seal tool 5209 worked great on my Superior IO-360 crankshaft. This tool sells for $70 instead of the Lycoming version which sells for about $950.

As others have said on here most of the work is cleaning, prep, and getting the sealer (Dow 737) in right places and not in the wrong places. Stretching the seal with this tool was no big deal.

I bought mine at Skygeek but ATS also sells them direct.

Andy

I have a small but pesky oil leak I suspect is from the crankshaft seal
I have no experience using this tool but I did make it through my plane build. Is this something that i could reasonably expect to use successfully on my own?
Thanks
Erich

I replaced the crankshaft seal on my IO-36-A3B6D after about 200 hours. I didn't actually use any special tools other than a plastic grocery bag over the flange to help slide the new seal over.

The trick is to get the old one out and CAREFULLY remove the old glue without scratching anything, but I just used the normal tools anyone would have (pliers, screwdrivers, etc).

YMMV, but I don't think this job is a huge deal .....

I did not use a tool also when I replaced mine and found it was not hard to do. I watched a YouTube video before I did mine. I do recall reading somewhere a year or two ago about how to make your own tool for a couple bucks out of PVC electrical conduit but of course can not find it now. I used a 1 gallon Zip-Lock freezer bag over the flange for protection, softened up the seal in hot water for EZ stretch, worked it over the flange with the help of round shaft screwdrivers, then let it rest and shrink back up a day before I installed it.

Yes. You can do it.

Erich,