What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Proper Mags for a C4B5

F1R

Well Known Member
According to the lycoming parts catalog the C4B5 and the D4A5 use the same counterweights on the crankshaft. Some time ago there was a post/thread that suggested the impulse coupled mag was NOT to be installed on either a C4B5 or the D4A5 engines. Only the retard breaker mag and a slick start is to be used.

I have spent a while searching AD's and this forum and found nothing. Can anybody find a link to the relevant thread or AD.

Thanks in Advance

Good for you to be thinking ahead.... I didn't learn of this problem until after I was flying, and my engine was rebuilt by one of the "big name" shops. :mad: I am still learning, but here is one relevant thread:

http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=102709

and another

http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showpost.php?p=769687&postcount=4

and here is a good post:

A 250 hour inspection SB1- 98A maybe with the right tools.
Specifically the impulse coupling.

Tools needed: An impulse coupling puller and a rivet gauge.
Maybe this belongs into a different thread but Mr."Slick" Joe Logie was adamant about doing this inspection on affected engines/magneto installation,
saying that he had seen these fail in 300 hours.
He also said he would not fly an engine with 5th order counter weights and an impulse coupled slick mag. This from the folks at the Oshkosh slick booth.
He recommended a slick start module with a retard breaker instead.
(I think I'll just go with a second Lightspeed EI and be done with magnetos.

Quite simple really with the right tools.
Mine showed no noticeable wear around the affected rivets that hold down the pawls. I'll send it in for a 500 hour when it gets there.
slick.JPG

slick1.JPG

slick2.JPG

slick3.JPG

slick4.JPG

Last edited: