What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

finally getting started

andrewtac

Well Known Member
rv8.jpg

I was a member a few years back, poked around a bit with intentions of starting an RV8. I came back a few months ago poking around a bit again, made a couple posts. Found a wing and tail kit in the classifieds, it sold; found another wing and tail kit with tools and jumped on it. After working out the details I picked it up Sunday. The tail work is complete (minus the glass) and spar construction on the wing was begun. I've got no experience building planes, but have a buddy who worked at a build shop (and did about 95% of an RV-9). I've got some shop setup to do and a bit of research (practice kit and maybe some classes) before I get started. Thanks Nate for the patience with the purchase.

Last edited:
Get Started

Andrew...congrats on getting started! I took the EAA sheet metal class a couple of months ago and highly recommend it. My riveting and overall building skills improved verses watching videos on riveting and building two Vans practice kits on my own. Hopefully soon the CEO and CFO says build it; however, she says side by side and I want an 8.

Congratulations

Andrew
Congratulations and welcome. The fun begins.

George
Happy wife, happy life. Unhappy wife...fill in the blank

Wife is not really on board yet, I want to finish by the time my youngest is out of the house. The plan is to be able to travel, and have fun while doing it. The idea of a small plane built in the garage scares her some. I've got some time to convince her.

Sport Air workshop!

Congrats on the RV-8 kit purchase! If I was going to build another plane, the -8 would be my choice. I'm building a Glastar for utility (and fun!). But I attended the Sport Air sheet metal workshop and found it to be very helpful. Check out my workshop results here