What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

IMC in the Rocket

Tom Martin

Well Known Member
On saturday I had a chance to to get a bit of actual IMC time in conditions that I am comfortable with. The IFR ticket has been a bit frustrating at times as my personal minimums are quite a bit higher then the legal minimums and this limits my actual IMC time. I file IFR on quite a few nice VFR days just to keep in the system. Over the last two years I have flown almost 100 hours of IFR but only a handful of actual IMC hours. This is a typical IMC flight, for me, clear skies below, a solid layer, and clear skies above. I thought that I would post a video of this "typical" flight. A lot of the IFR world revolves around the conversation with flight control and this video gets the highlights of the radio talk of a 20 minute flight condensed in under 3 minutes.
I am NOT a pro, I am a nervous IFR guy but I am really enjoying the challenge of the experience. I learn something new each and every flight. If you are going to do this try not to wait until your mid fifties like I did; it just has to be easier with a younger sharper mind!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7m0ODgImf58

I am a nervous IFR guy

Now that's funny! I hear you though. I often wonder what my vital signs would be if I could monitor them while in IMC.

I noticed in your video that your radio is located on the right side of your pannel. As I think to the future and plan out the pannel for my -8 I wonder how much or even if it's a pain to switch hands on the stick every time you need to adjust your radio. I'm guessing you don't even think about it, but curious what your real world experience with this is.

By the way, GREAT video! I enjoyed watching that over lunch at work today.
Thanks for posting.
Tom