What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

countersink skins? really?

Dancer

I've just started bulding the tail of a RV7.
I read an article in Van's old newsletters about counter sinking skins that are .32 or .40
This is news to me. I thought everyone was dimpling all skins. Is this just old, out dated information? I havent' read what the thickness is of the skins I have for my RV7 tail, anyone know?

Thanks,
Lance

Some builders countersunk certain parts, but these days almost everybody dimples the skins. I personally dimple when given a choice. I feel I'm leaving more material for a stronger joint, and dimpling also benefits from the additional anti-shear of nested dimples. I'm not an engineer, so these may be naive assumptions...but hey, please correct me if I'm wrong!

Anyway, up to .040" thick I dimple when I can.

Dancer said:
I've just started bulding the tail of a RV7.
I read an article in Van's old newsletters about counter sinking skins that are .32 or .40
This is news to me. I thought everyone was dimpling all skins. Is this just old, out dated information? I havent' read what the thickness is of the skins I have for my RV7 tail, anyone know?

Thanks,
Lance
Lance,
Certainly, a dimpled hole is stronger than one that is machine countersunk. But in many applications, that extra margin of strength will never be called upon and is not necessary. Several years ago, an Oshkosh Grand Champion winner was (the late) Tyler Feldman's outstanding RV-6. To produce the smoothest skins possible he chose to machine countersunk all of the wing skins. He knew that cosmetically a dimpled hole cannot approach the inherent smoothness of a machine countersunk hole.