What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Can I really build one --- RV7 ?????

Mike Weaver

I'm New Here
The things that have drawn me to a RV 7 are speed, looks, cost and most importantly the ability to work on the aircraft myself. I am a pilot but have never built anything other than balsa wood models. I have looked at a number of builders web sites and it looks like as long as you closely follow the instructions it should be a do able thing in time. I am wondering how detailed the written instructions are and if a lot of the contruction information has to be interperted from the plans? Time to build in not an issue but safety is. I have not found any FAA records that a RV has come apart in the air, but what if I unknowingly not do something correctly and my does.

I would welcome any input. I am really having a hard time making the decision to do it or not.

Thanks for your help.

Mike Weaver

Welcome Mike!

A couple of articles that you might want to read are:

"Can I Build A RV?" by Scott McDaniels
http://www.vansairforce.net/articles/AnRVcanIbuildone.htm
and
"The unvarnished truth about building airplanes" by Randy Lervold

The short answer is "it depends".

You will have all the support and help in the world online. If you're OK with working with your hands (change the lawnmower oil, fix the toilet, etc.) and can dedicate the TIME that is required, you stand a good chance and getting the project finished.

There are a lot of RVs in North Carolina and people will come out of the woodwork to look over your project and introduce themselves. This is, after all, a social hobby <g>.

The (financially) worst thing that can happen is you start to build the tail, decide it's not your 'bag', and sell everything for almost what you have invested in it.

Can't hurt....

Best,
Doug

Mike Weaver said: