What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

(Slick SB1-98, Lycoming SB 537)

N427EF

Well Known Member

Affects 540 engines with 5th order counter weights.

I am trying to figure out how to go about this service bulletin.
This is not a thread about whether or not you need to comply with an engine/magneto SB but rather the best way to deal with it.
It clearly affects our IO 540s and those with Slick mags.
A 250 hour inspection does not seem like a big deal but for me any SB is a nuisance and I am exploring my options.

1: replace the left impulse mag with a second EI.
2: replace impulse coupled mag with retard breaker magneto.
3: follow and comply with SB.

I've been talked out of dual EIs and I would prefer one mag and one EI anyway.
A retard breaker would be my preferred option, does anyone have experience with one of those instead of an impulse coupled mag?
I have no experience looking at the inner working of a mag and would possibly not see a potential problem. Sending it off typically takes the plane out of service for 2 to 3 weeks, not a disaster but if I can avoid it I would prefer not to do that.

I have a retard mag plus Slick start, starts fine. Of course it cannot be hand propped if the battery is totally dead.
Why not go to a mag with no impulse, no retard, and just start on the EI (only)?

Ernst, I may be wrong but can you simply change the Slicks to a newer version, or go Bendix :rolleyes:

From memory your mags are different to mine, which are Mid- 08 vintage.

Bob, after 10 years of flipping both toggle switches for starting I am afraid I'll
miss that little detail one day and deal with the damage of a kick back.
The engine certainly starts easily with just the EI or the mag or as I do it on both.
The SB specifically recommends complying with the instructions OR