What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

So I'm an RV owner!

DougJ

Well Known Member
First of all, I have to say thanks to DR and all the contributors to this awesome forum. What a great source of information this place is!
I've been lurking around on here for well over a year without making a post, just learning a lot.

It's time to get on board. I'm just gonna throw it out there on this first post, skip it if you're not interested in the read.

I took first my flight lesson at 16, of course I couldn't afford it and went off to the Army at 18. Still in 30 years later. I did the helicopter thing, mostly in Chinooks, as an Instructor Pilot and Maintenance Test Pilot. In Nov 2001 I went to the Army Multi-engine FW course, then the C-23 AQC and I've been flying the C-23 Sherpa ever since. I've been an Instructor Pilot in it since 2006.

Before I went to flight school I was an Aircraft Structural Repairman, and I've wanted to build an RV for years, just never got going on it. I have all the standard excuses as to why I never got started, but you don't want to hear that. Some of that time was as a part-timer Guardsman, so I've been deep in the civil helicopter world as well.

On my last deployment I spent 6 or 7 months in Egypt, coming home in Feb 2012. One of the other pilots on that mission is building an RV-7, he is a member here as well. Through our conversations the long dormant bug bit again and I started scheming - I mean planning - on how I could do this. My current mission would require a side-by-side so the wife could eye-ball me at all times for her comfort, so with that in mind I began pricing kits and components, shopping kits in progress, working up spreadsheets to try to figure out if I could even afford it etc., etc. You all know the drill.