What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Is a Radio Station License Required?

RV7ator

Well Known Member
I know it's not for N-numbered aircraft in the US. Ostensibly, it's required when going foreign, like Canada. BUT, have any of you ever been asked to produce the license when entering Canada, or anywhere else for that matter?

John Siebold

Flying into Canada

I know it's not for N-numbered aircraft in the US. Ostensibly, it's required when going foreign, like Canada. BUT, have any of you ever been asked to produce the license when entering Canada, or anywhere else for that matter?

John Siebold

I've been flying into Canada for 43 years and have never been asked to display a radio station license.

I think the FCC wants something like $160 for this piece of paper which serves no useful purpose whatsoever. Let's see, the US FCC says you need this, but only if you leave the US? Does this make any sense?
Not that I would suggest anything not above board, but if you download the application from the FCC web site it includes a "temporary" license.

I think the FCC wants something like $160 for this piece of paper which serves no useful purpose whatsoever. Let's see, the US FCC says you need this, but only if you leave the US? Does this make any sense?

Not quite...IIRC, it's the *other* countries which require the radiotelephone license, and since the plane is not from that country, they require one from the country of registration.

Canadian pilots: Do you need a radio station license?

Yep. I've had mine for 37 yrs and haven't seen it for 37 yrs. I can still remember reciting the phonetic alphabet to get it. Glad I did it back then, otherwise to remember all those letters now I would have to fly around with a copy of it on my knee:D

I think its now called an ROC-A.

Now that it's been brought up on this forum, I'm betting they will ask the next time!!