What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-8 Fuselage Fuel Line

Al RV8

Hello All,

This is my first post. I have been building an RV8 QB for the past 10 months. Tail feathers are complete and I am working on the Fus and am up to the fuel system.

I was wondering if anyone has had a hard time forming the 3/8" fuel line that goes between the Airflow fuel pump and the firewall fitting. The drawing shows a simple "S" bend. I have not been able to get the line bent and leave enough room to get the flare tool on the end to form the flare with AN hardware in place???? I was thinking about making the tube straight with flares and hardware and then bending?

Any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Al

If I remember, that was one of the easier ones. Once you get the 'S' bent so the ends 'mate' with the pump and FW fitting, put fittings one one end and flare it. Then repeat for the other side. I had no problem using the flaring tool on that piece.

That said, I think I am going to get the Bonaco kit for the RV-8. Of all the tubing I have done, the Filter->Pump->Firewall are the only ones I am really happy with. The rest are 'OK' after multiple tries.

fuel lines

I also found this very difficult. Here is a pic. I'm actually not happy with the S tube, as it flattened oh so slightly on one of the bends, so I will probably redo it when I get stuck with other parts of the project.

Click on the image for the full article and another picture.

try a 360 loop

sort of. a descending one. :D. made it an easier fit for mine.

Hello All,

This is my first post. I have been building an RV8 QB for the past 10 months. Tail feathers are complete and I am working on the Fus and am up to the fuel system.