What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Newbie: Introduction

Hello all,

First off let me say that this forum seems to be a great place for information. I have made a few posts so far and thought I would introduce myself.

I am a UH60A/L Instructor Pilot in the US Army. I have been in the military for approx. 18 years. Four in the USAF as Security Policeman and the remaining in the USA.

I have been interested in aviation since I was five, when my uncle took me for my first flight. It has been an addiction ever since! I have also been interested in building my own plane ever since I found out how much a production craft costs :eek: ! I have always thought the RV series have been the best bang for the buck and the best looking!

I have a few hurdles to overcome before I can commit to building. I am scheduled to take an extended vacation (one year deployment) to Afghanistan starting in January. Upon my return in 2008, my wife and I will be leaving for Korea or Japan. Maybe, with a little research and some good luck I will be building overseas, if not, it will have to wait until I return to the US.
I have the cash, motivation and mechanical skills to complete the project. Now it is only a matter of finding the time!

I saw where ArmyDad was over in Korea visiting his Daughter and he posted a few pics of the DMZ.

As part of my introduction, I thought ArmyDad and others would be interested in some aviations pics of Korea. Enjoy!

Michael

Last edited:
35206282870.jpg

early morning flight over the East Sea near Busan

35206373792.jpg

same lighthouse after a hurricane

35206421698.jpg

hovering at Camp Walker Heliport

35206432261.jpg

formation flying

35206473632.jpg

flying over Woobang Tower Land Amusement Park in Daegu (pop 2.3 million)

Michael

Last edited:
35206504490.jpg

the helicopters door popped open, so they landed on top of Kumo Mtn to shut it

35206515177.jpg