What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lousy readability of Apple devices in cockpit

chasers03

When I try to use my Ipad or Iphone in my dual G3X Touch cockpit on a sunny day I find their screen readability to be completely useless especially once off the ground. (I realize that being 75 doesn't help) I have tried anti-reflecting films and of course making sure the brightness is to the maximum.

The only high brightness (1300 nits vs the Touch's 1100) device I have found is the IFly GPS 740 https://www.iflygps.com/SYSTEMS/iFly740.aspx but it does not Connext to the Garmin's nor does it allow using Foreflight or Garmin Pilot within the device. Only IFly's GPS program https://www.iflygps.com/FEATURES.aspx can be used on the unit.

Anyone got an alternative portable device which is readable in sunlight and plays well with Garmin??

Android

I have been using a Nexus 7 with Garmin Pilot for a couple of years. It was the brightest screen I could find. It is mostly visible in an Rv9A cockpit with a Kroger sun shade. I would look at the Samsung Galaxy S2 8.0 if I was going to replace mine.

Steve, I'm only two years younger than you and had exactly the same problem. (Sucks getting old) I had had an ipad and it was worthless under my bubble canopy. (RV 8) I now have a Nexus 9, and I can read that fine when flying in bright sunlight. I'm using Garmin Pilot and a GDL 39 to blue tooth the GPS nav data and weather data to the 9. I mentioned I've got an 8, because the 9 is big, maybe 6 by 9 inches. I see you've got a 7, so I don't guess you'd have a problem. I also see you're in S Carolina. I'm in Atlanta---not that far from you. I could come by you, pop you in the back seat, and you can decide for yourself before you buy. (Couldn't do it though for maybe 2 weeks)