VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #631  
Old 11-08-2019, 12:10 PM
swixtt swixtt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CAD
Posts: 249
Default

Great, thanks for the update on the update. will stay tuned for the new release.
on a side note, is there anyway to increase 'tracking log line, breadcrumb' size on the Map or perhaps have 'tracking log line' or custom way-points appear on the Enroute Charts?
__________________
RV9.... Tail done. Inspection done! Wings pre-cover MDRA inspection done. Closing them up now. Fuse underway.
Reply With Quote
  #632  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:15 AM
eld eld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: LFRF
Posts: 9
Default Clear recent tab

Hello Steve,

I have a bad recent point on this tab and I can't delete.
Do you know how to clear all point on Recent Tab ?

Thanks
Eric

Last edited by eld : 11-11-2019 at 01:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #633  
Old 11-11-2019, 10:17 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,551
Post Aera 660 V3.70 Software

Hello,

Aera 660 V3.70 software was released this morning.

Changes made from version 3.60 to 3.70:
  • Increase access to the symbol keyboard (e.g. for waypoint searches)
  • Fix Flight Log storage
  • Fix Navigation Database issues
  • General improvements to system operation
  • Includes GDL 39 software version 4.81
  • Includes GDL 5X software version 2.12
  • Includes GPS software version 3.30

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #634  
Old 11-18-2019, 11:41 AM
swixtt swixtt is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CAD
Posts: 249
Default

Installing mine now.
__________________
RV9.... Tail done. Inspection done! Wings pre-cover MDRA inspection done. Closing them up now. Fuse underway.
Reply With Quote
  #635  
Old 12-03-2019, 03:59 AM
gFlyer gFlyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Munich
Posts: 29
Default Support of Century IIB Autopilot

Hi Steve,

is there a possibility to use the area 660 in combination of a G5 to steer with a GAD29 a Century IIB Autopilot? While the area 660 should be able to control the flight route?

Thanks,

Kind regards
gFlyer
Reply With Quote
  #636  
Old 12-03-2019, 09:26 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,551
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by gFlyer View Post
Hi Steve,

is there a possibility to use the area 660 in combination of a G5 to steer with a GAD29 a Century IIB Autopilot? While the area 660 should be able to control the flight route?

Thanks,

Kind regards
gFlyer
Hello gFlyer,

While the Aera 660 can act as the navigator for a G5 based autopilot, it does not provide the A429 GPSS data needed to drive the analog outputs on the GAD 29B to provide this steering signal to old analog autopilots like the Century.

The minimum Garmin navigator for an installation like you describe would be a GPS 175 (or any of the GNS/GTN WAAS navigators).

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #637  
Old 12-06-2019, 07:17 PM
Flybipe Flybipe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 113
Default Won't boot after new software...?

I finally got around to installing this new version of the software today. Once installed it now won't boot up and shuts down after the startup / spinning garmin logo screen. Is there a recovery mode or do I have to now send this somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #638  
Old 12-07-2019, 08:00 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,551
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybipe View Post
I finally got around to installing this new version of the software today. Once installed it now won't boot up and shuts down after the startup / spinning garmin logo screen. Is there a recovery mode or do I have to now send this somewhere?
Hello Flybipe,

It would be best to contact us directly for assistance of this type. If you haven't tried updating from a USB connection, you should try that first.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #639  
Old Today, 09:03 AM
mark960 mark960 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island NY / Ft Myers FL
Posts: 61
Default SL30 Serial Connections

Hi Steve,

My SL30 serial data is currently connected to my Dynon D100 for nav info on the HSI screen. I would like to connect the Aera 660 serial out to the SL30 for frequency changes.

Can I connect the Aera 660 serial out to the SL30 serial in AND the SL30 data out to the Dynon, simultaneously??

I doesn't look like the SL30 needs any data from the Dynon D100


Thanks
Mark Klepper
__________________
Mark Klepper
N1075 FA81 - Ft Myers, Buckingham Field
Van's RV9A Slider
Reply With Quote
  #640  
Old Today, 09:37 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,551
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark960 View Post
Hi Steve,

My SL30 serial data is currently connected to my Dynon D100 for nav info on the HSI screen. I would like to connect the Aera 660 serial out to the SL30 for frequency changes.

Can I connect the Aera 660 serial out to the SL30 serial in AND the SL30 data out to the Dynon, simultaneously??

I doesn't look like the SL30 needs any data from the Dynon D100


Thanks
Mark Klepper
Hello Mark,

If the SL 30 RS-232 input on pin 4 is not used in your installation, you should be able to connect this to the Aera 660.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.